Sunn O))) recording new album

Photo by Hugo Gomes

Sunn O))) are currently recording a brand new, as yet untitled full-length scheduled for release in early 2009. The band’s 7th studio album, following the Boris collaboration Altar, will see the core duo of Stephen O’Malley and Greg Anderson joined once again by Attila Csihar on vocals, as well as a myriad of guests including long-time collaborator Oren Ambarchi and Mr Bungle/Secret Chiefs 3 violinist/composer Eyvind Kang on horns and string section. The early word has it that the LP will once again see a change in direction for the drone outfit.


Meanwhile, this summer sees the release of Dømkirke, a double vinyl-only album recorded live at a

special performance in a cathedral in Bergen, Norway. The performance saw O’Malley, Anderson and Csihar joined by Steve Moore (Earth, Ascend, Stebmo), Lasse Marhaug (Jazzkammer), and keyboards from T.O.S. Each LP side contains one singular piece:
Side 1) Why Dost Thou Hide Thyself in Clouds?
Side 2) Cannon
Side 3) Cymatics
Side 4) Mass of the Ætmospheres



The 2xLP will be packaged in a “super deluxe gatefold jacket with printed inner-sleeves featuring stunning photographs of the performance”.